Posted in My World View, Random thots.., Time Machine

About Life, Universe and Everything!!

When I was 10 years old, I had so many questions about the Universe, Life and all things..

At that age, you are conditioned by virtuous notions of good and the bad which colour your imagination. For me too, there was this conception of good, which would offer you a place in Heaven; and bad which will push you to Hell. And the confusing cases who would stand in a long queue on Judgement Day. That idea was so vivid in my mind, I even wrote a 100 line poem on Life and the Afterlife in a momentary bout of epiphany!

Then, there was this growing up phase, when I was trying hard to make sense of my life. Finding a decent career, getting a respectable position in society, earning money became a priority. I forgot the importance of Life, Universe and everything..

After a long time now, the questions are coming back to me. When I am in a place where I no longer have a lengthy list of to-do things for my career; I need some intellectual fuel to burn my thoughts.

And the time seems perfectly right. Standing on the far edge of your twenties is a good age, not too early and not too late. You can look forward and backwards with the same clarity. You can think both in terms of years and decades, and you perfectly realize the value of your time. At this point in my life, I am beginning to think again about the puzzles that haunted me twenty years ago.

What about all the doctrines which have been fed to us? We have been asked to adopt ideologies without questioning them. So, if the status quo is to be believed, the quality of not questioning and blind belief is the most admirable quality in a man.

Then why does man question everything? Why have the greatest inventions and discoveries  arrived out of this questioning nature of our minds? Why do we encourage thinking and innovation? Having a certain form of thinking in one part of your life, and a different kind of thinking in the other is quite paradoxical.

I think we are getting back to the debate between creationists and evolutionists, the conservatives, non- conformists and the stuck-in-betweens!

Maybe this topic can be explored a bit more.. Life, universe and the Afterlife.. Heaven and Hell, and my place in this so-called society….

Interestingly, there are no answers. Only more Questions!!..

One thought on “About Life, Universe and Everything!!

  1. I was going through pictures on the web to put with my blog when I saw the picture in yours. It was the picture I wanted so I clicked on it. Then, I saw the first few lines of your blog and had to read it because it had some similarities to mine.
    I know that God gave His creation spectacular minds–minds that can search for Him…one that could know Him or ignore Him. If you’d like to read my blog, please go to http://www.reginarussell.weebly.com. I hope you like it. Oh..and thanks for the pic.

Leave a Reply

